Respiratory Diseases
Lung disease covers a variety of disorders from asthma to infections such as the flu and pneumonia. For more in-depth information, below are some resources available through the ACC Online Library.
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) by
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) is growing in reocnition as a major chronic disease, and a key cause of acute medical admissions. It kills approximately 30,000 patients each year in England and Wales alone, and is set to be the third commonest cause of death by 2020 globally. This pocketbook is a concise companion for all health care professionals who come into contact with patients wtih COPD. It covers the full spectrum of COPD management, ranging from smoking cessation to advanced COPD, bridging both the primary and secondary care aspects of treatment and discussing the latest advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology and new drug treatments of this disease. This compact volume of the Oxford Respiratory Medicine Library summarizes up-to-date literature in a style that will have direct clinical application to busy health care professionals.
ISBN: 9780199549146Publication Date: 2009-01-29
Asthma by
Asthma sufferers number approximately 200 million worldwide, with 15-20 million of those in the United States. Multiple comorbid conditions occur with asthma, including rhinitis, rhinosinusitis, gastroesophageal reflux disease, sleep apnea, vocal cord dysfunction syndrome, obesity, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Without identifying and caring for comorbid conditions, asthma cannot be treated appropriately. Comorbidity of allergic diseases emphasizes that we must understand more about why different organs in individuals express allergy and others do not. The increase in multiple allergies occurring in a single patient makes the global burden even more complex, and an integrated approach to diagnosis and new treatment strategies and preventative approaches are required. Asthma: Comorbidities, Coexisting Conditions, and Differential Diagnosis is the first volume to provide a centralized, a comprehensive clinical reference on the diagnosis and management of the comorbid conditions that affect asthma. Because comorbid conditions of asthma have not yet been included in international and national management guidelines, this volume will help fill a gap in current clinical knowledge, aiding physicians in delivering optimal patient care. Written and published in conjunction with the World Allergy Organization (WAO), this book consists of the latest research and reviews of current theory and practice, the most effective advances in the diagnosis and management of asthma and its co-morbidities, and insights into the fundamentals of asthma and its co-morbidities. It presents scientifically-based medicine for each comorbid condition as it relates to asthma.
ISBN: 9780199918065Publication Date: 2014-03-21
Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism : A Guide for Practitioners by
Fully updated to reflect current evidence based practice Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism: A guide for Practitioners covers the pathology and common problems in clinical medicine and general practice related to venous thrombosis. The new edition has details of the theory and practice of traditional drugs and the use of non-Vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants (NOACs) and overall the book will enable the practitioner to manage their patients with confidence Contents include: Introduction What is deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism and why are they important? Who is at risk of these conditions and why? Recognising and confirming DVT and PE What have we got to treat these conditions? Clinical practice of anticoagulation Heparin and LMWH Warfarin Non-vitamin K antagonist anticoagulants (NOACs) What happens if something goes wrong? – Haemorrhage References Answers to Consolidation notes and Case Studies
ISBN: 9781905539338Publication Date: 2015
SARS Unmasked by
Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) was the first global pandemic of the twenty-first century, spreading within weeks from southern China to over thirty-seven countries around the world. In Canada intense news media coverage had a profound impact on how the disease was perceived, with frontline health care workers, despite their heroic efforts, stigmatized due to their contact with patients. Will SARS or another pandemic influenza reoccur and, if it does, have we learned how to manage pandemics more effectively? In SARS Unmasked risk communication expert Michael Tyshenko offers answers to this and other questions. Cathy Peterson, who worked as a nurse clinician during the Toronto SARS crisis, adds an important view from the frontlines. Their analysis reveals an out-of-control situation with mixed risk communication messages, a lack of leadership, and an overwhelmed health care system that was unable to both cope with the crisis in Toronto and provide adequate support for their most valuable employees at the time - health care workers. Taking a very broad perspective, grounded in risk assessment, SARS Unmasked adds important information to what has already been said about the 2003 crisis, focusing on the human and societal effects of an infectious disease pandemic and providing tangible guidance for future pandemic threats.
ISBN: 9780773536173Publication Date: 2010-03-19
Chronic Obstructive Lung Diseases by
This clinical reference for practitioners offers a new and comprehensive look at chronic obstructive lung disease. Global in scale and importance, it is an important cause of morbidity and mortality. Bringing together a roster of internationally renowned contributors from the front lines of pulmonary medicine and research, it is aimed at practitioners in pulmonary medicine, pathology, thoracic radiology and epidemiology. Its focus is on the pathobiology of chronic obstructive pathology disease and emphysema and its exacerbation of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and on treatment options. This reference works to “connect the dots” by collating and centralizing the various data on the subject.
ISBN: 9781550093902Contemporary Diagnosis and Management of Nosocomial Pneumonias by Pneumonia is the second most common nosocomial infection in the United States and is associated with increased morbidity and mortality. This practice-based handbook focuses on prevention strategies, causative pathogens, and the treatment options available.
ISBN: 9781935103141Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Coping with COVID-19 by
Coping with COVID-19: The Medical, Mental, and Social Consequences of the Pandemic provides readers with unique and timely insights about the single most disruptive and epoch-defining public health event of the last 100 years. Written in an easy-to-read and accessible style, widely respected psychiatrist and author Dr. Samoon Ahmad explores both the science of the virus and the lasting psychological, clinical, and professional implications of the pandemic in two well-organized parts. The first part of the book examines the historical precedents of pandemics, as well as the virology and symptomology of SARS-CoV-2. The second part covers the broader effects of the pandemic on society with special consideration being given to its impact on public health policy, the medical industry, and the individual psychology of children and adults. Discusses the historical background, initial outbreak, and early spread of COVID-19, followed by chapters on transmission models, pathology, and neurologic and psychiatric symptoms Covers mental health and other clinical concerns, public health, and professional implications for practicing physicians and other healthcare workers Shares the experience and knowledge of Samoon Ahmad, MD, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at NYU Grossman School of Medicine, Unit Chief of Psychiatric Inpatient Unit at Bellevue Hospital Center, co-author of Medical Marijuana: A Clinical Handbook andco-editor of Kaplan & Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry An excellent resource for psychiatrists, neurologists, primary care, family medicine, and critical care physicians, medical students, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, as well as the general public Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975188993Publication Date: 2022-05-19
COVID-19: from Health, Education, Economic, to Science and Technology in South East Asia and India by
A major crisis is happening in the world today. It all started in December 2019, when an outbreak of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) caused by novel severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) began in Wuhan City, Hubei Province, China. The World Health Organization (WHO) declared the outbreak a public health emergency of international concern. Despite all preventive steps taken by government and health agencies, rising death tolls seem inevitable. The confines of social distancing have driven society toward a sudden and rapid change in all aspects of life, and we are forced to embrace this change as the new "normal". Research conducted in these uncertain times allows us to identify, and analyze the challenges to finding effective strategies and solutions. This book provides current theoretical perspectives, studies, practices, and innovations that will contribute to society during the COVID-19 pandemic, especially in Southeast Asia and India. The current work can be used as a reliable reference, as rapid circulation of credible information, transparent case identification, data sharing, unhindered communication, and peer-reviewed research are most needed during this period of uncertainty.
ISBN: 9781536189032Publication Date: 2020-12-22
