As a member of the American Career College community, you have access to ebooks, journals, and medical images and videos. This guide will show you the online library resources we have that will specifically help you as a nursing student or instructor. Feel free to bookmark it.
The Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Transitioning to the Professional Nurse Role by Graduating from nursing school is a massive accomplishment, but those next steps-passing boards and starting a demanding new job as a nurse-can seem daunting. Never fear: This book will help any new nurse map out a clear path from commencement to successful career. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Transitioning to the Professional Nurse Role is a straightforward how-to guide to confidently enter professional practice. From ethical issues to continuing education to coping with stress, authors Cynthia M. Thomas, Constance E. McIntosh, and Jennifer S. Mensik provide practical strategies and tools to help you reach your greatest nursing potential.
ISBN: 9781940446226Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
ISBN: 9781469815299Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
ISBN: 9781496381781Publication Date: 2018-02-17
Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide by
The key to success in nursing school is effective studying! Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last.The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: “What to Expect in Nursing School,” “Decreasing Test Anxiety,” and “Emergency Nursing.” The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN®.NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION:New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventionsA new chapter on emergency nursingA new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategiesA new chapter on what to expect in nursing school
ISBN: 9780826193360Publication Date: 2016
Empirical Nursing by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
ISBN: 9781787438149Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
ISBN: 9780826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Critical Thinking Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Critical Thinking Skills for your Nursing Degree provides you with a sound knowledge and understanding of: the nature of critical thinking, and of its relevance and importance in HE how to adopt a critical approach to all aspects of your nursing study the importance of active, critical reading, and how it allows you an efficient, principled, effective assessment of the literature in your field the need to adopt a critical approach to writing, characterised by analytical and evaluative use of sources and the development of your own 'voice' If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
ISBN: 9781912096695Publication Date: 2018-05-21
