Introduction to Dental Specialties
There are nine dental specialties approved by the Council on Dental Education and Licensure of the American Dental Association (ADA). These are:
-
Dental public health: Dental public health is the dental specialty devoted to promoting public dental health and preventing and controlling dental diseases through community and public education.
-
Endodontics: Endodontics is the dental specialty focused on the morphology, physiology, and pathology of the periradicular (tooth root) tissues and human dental pulp.
-
Oral and maxillofacial pathology: Oral and maxillofacial pathology deals with the nature, identification, and management of diseases affecting the regions of the mouth, jaw, and adjacent parts of the face.
-
Oral and maxillofacial surgery: Oral and maxillofacial surgery is the dental specialty that focuses on the diagnosis, surgical, and related treatment of diseases, injuries, and deficiencies of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial regions. These specialists address functional and aesthetic aspects of the areas treated.
-
Orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics: Orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics is the specialty concerned with guiding and correcting children's and adults’ dentofacial structures.
-
Pediatric dentistry: Pediatric dentistry is the dental specialty that is devoted to providing primary and comprehensive preventive and therapeutic dental health care from infancy through adolescence. Pediatric dentists also provide dental care to children with special healthcare needs.
-
Periodontics: Periodontics involves the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases affecting the tissues supporting and surrounding the teeth. The specialty also focuses on the maintenance of healthy gums and supporting dental tissues.
-
Prosthodontics: Prosthodontics is the specialty concerned with the restoration of natural and replacement teeth, as well as contiguous oral and maxillofacial tissues.
-
Oral and maxillofacial radiology: No definition has yet been approved by the ADA House of Delegates for this newly granted dental specialty. However, these specialists use imaging techniques to assist general dentists and other oral health specialists in the diagnostic assessment of diseases of the head and neck.
Hilton, L. (2018). Dental specialties. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), Gale virtual reference library: The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health (4th ed.).
Gale. Credo Reference: http://americancareercollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/galegnaah/dental_specialties/0?institutionId=8816
Dental Specialties eBooks
Implant Dentistry by
Implant dentistry is a complex and rising field of dentistry and presents many intricate problems, which are being tackled by various disciplines of both basic and clinical research. There is a high amount of scientific information gathered so far; however data are rather divergent, sometimes even contradictory. Therefore, there is increasing need for integrating reviews of this highly important field of dentistry. This work presents an integration of several prosthetic-, surgical- and oral biological considerations of implant dentistry on a scientific level, with special respect to the problem of clinical decision-making. Further, this book also includes some chapters dedicated to rarely reviewed research areas like use of physiotherapy and psychosomatic considerations for implant dentistry, which also supply a great want. Relevant subject areas include: applied anatomy and bone biology for implant dentistry, mechanisms of osseointegration and peri-implant soft tissue healing, biomaterials for implant surgery, medical and dental evaluation of patient, diagnostic imaging for implant dentistry and other diagnostic tools, several prosthodontic and surgical considerations for treatment planning, implant surgery, management of pain, inflammation, peri-implantitis and other complication, immediate and delayed loading of implants, implant maintenance and after care, physiotherapy and psychosomatic considerations for implant dentistry as well as future perspectives of implant dentistry. The book gathers and presents data on the leading edge of implant dentistry. The principal audience of the present work is made up primarily of dental professionals having advanced knowledge related to implant dentistry (including university teachers and students of post graduated and/or Ph.D. courses of dental schools). However, general dental practitioners, interested dental graduate students and other professionals working in the orofacial region may also use the book serviceable.
ISBN: 9781631177002Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Ingle's Endodontics 6e by
This textbook, which has been known as the'Bible of Endodontics'for over 40 years, will, in its 6th edition, retain its recognition as'The Bible'. With over 75 contributing authors from all over the world and 40 chapters, the new Ingle's Endodontics will be the first endodontic textbook specifically prepared fort the world's endodontic specialists and graduate students in advanced endodontic programs world-wide. It will continue to be the standard against which all other endodontic texts will be measured. The main divisions of the book will be'The Discipline of Endodontics,''Endodontic Pathobiology,''Endodontic Examination, Evaluation, Diagnosis & Treatment Planning,''Management of Endodontic Disease,''Surgical Procedures in Endodontics, and'Related Endodontic Treatment.'For the most part the illustrations will be in color. The evidence based bibliography for each topic will be extensive. Controversies in endodontics will be explored. Diagnosis and management of pain and infections will be broadened. A new section dealing with maxillary sinusitis and endodontic disease, expanded by CT scans is featured. The newest endodontic armamentaria are covered in depth. With a roundup of the world's experts in all phases of the specialty, Ingle's Endodontics, 6th edition, promises to be the ultimate in endodontic textbooks. It will be essential for every endodontist's library.
ISBN: 9781607950684Publication Date: 2008
Periodontal Review by
This comprehensive and fully up-to-date review manual provides all the information a prospective candidate needs to prepare for the American Board of Periodontology Qualifying Examination. Set in a question/answer format, the text provides complete yet succinct, evidence-based responses to questions with references to pertinent research. Each chapter covers its topic in full, divided into sections for easy reference. When appropriate, answers are provided as lists, tables, and with graphic design elements to aid in memorization and recall. Clinical images are also included as needed to elucidate the text. The final chapter provides sample case presentations with questions to allow the reader to prepare for the protocol portion of the exam and offers helpful advice such as when a well-supported response based on sound rationale, rather than a specific answer, is required. A highly recommended resource for all those seeking certification or recertification from the American Board of Periodontology.
ISBN: 9780867155914Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Self-Ligating Brackets in Orthodontics by
A comprehensive overview of modern orthodontic treatment using self-ligating bracket systems - with evaluations of systems currently available Promising numerous advantages in design, treatment efficacy, and reduced treatment time, self-ligating brackets have become a major part of modern orthodontic practice. Self-Ligating Brackets in Orthodontics: Current Concepts and Techniques summarizes contemporary information and clinical studies on these popular systems, integrating them with the authors' practical, hands-on experience. Encompassing all aspects of treatment with self-ligating fixed appliances from biomechanics to material properties, including diagnostic and therapeutic principles, this book provides a step-by-step visual guide to this groundbreaking field. Special Features: Provides more than 1,500 outstanding color photographs that show the sequence of steps for all procedures involving self-ligating brackets from start to finish Objectively evaluates the advantages and disadvantages of commercially available self-ligating bracket systems to help you make the best choices for your patients Covers the full scope of treatment, including oral hygiene, adhesive techniques, biomechanics, aesthetic choices, retention and stability, and more Includes multiple case studies as well as information on risks and pitfalls, practical tips, and clinical pearls that aid in decision-making and reinforce the treatment concepts Written by a team of international specialists, this book is essential for all practitioners who want to keep up with the latest developments in self-ligating brackets, expand their services, and offer state-of-the-art treatment techniques. It is a useful introduction to newcomers to self-ligation as well as a guide for experienced orthodontists on how to successfully incorporate this highly popular technique into their practices.
ISBN: 9783131547019Publication Date: 2011-12-14
