eBooks
The Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee Handbook by
Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance presents a succinct overview of these key areas of the medical curriculum. This new title aims to provide a concise summary of the three core, interlinked topics essential to resolving ethical dilemmas in medicine and avoiding medico-legal action. Divided into two sections; the first examines the ethical and legal principles underpinning each medical topic; while the second focuses on communication skills and the importance of good communication. Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance offers an accessible introduction to the fundamentals of good medical practice, and will provide indispensable support for undergraduate medical students and nurses, as well as newly qualified healthcare professionals.
ISBN: 9781945157554Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Bioethical Decision Making in Nursing by
FOURTH EDITION NAMED A 2013 DOODY'S CORE TITLE "This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making, a process that can help clarify situations where right and wrong are not clearly defined. This is] a valuable book for ethics and theory courses." Score: 100, 5 stars --Doody's More relevant today than ever, Husted's classic nursing ethics text provides a practical framework to help nurses engage with patients to make difficult ethical decisions. It delivers a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify situations where "right" and "wrong" are not clearly defined. An abundance of case studies provides practice in bioethical decision making, with nearly 45 bioethical dilemmas analyzed in detail. The fifth edition has been reorganized and rewritten to facilitate increased readability and to engage readers more fully in learning. It includes two new chapters, Moral Distress and Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective, additional case studies, and abundant tables, diagrams, and graphics that reinforce the text discussion. Instructor resources are also available for adopters of the text. The book is grounded in the concept of "symphonia," which, within the health care arena, is the study of agreements between health care professionals and patients and the ethical implications of these agreements. It is intended to promote the welfare of both patient and health care provider. The new chapter on moral distress discusses futile care among other causes of moral distress and offers coping techniques for situations in which a nurse has an ethical issue with a standard of care but is powerless to change that care. The other new chapter, Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective, focuses on situations that can be interpreted as either moral and illegal, or immoral and legal. The fifth edition also features a new section on ethical colleagueship, providing support to relieve common dilemmas among health care professionals. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Reorganized and rewritten for ease of comprehension and increased reader engagement Includes two new chapters, Moral Distress and Nursing Practice Intersections: Legal Decision Making Within a Symphonological Ethical Perspective Provides more tables, diagrams, and graphics to clarify text discussion Provides objectives at the beginning of each chapter Expanded study guide at the end of each chapter Delivers new case studies that are analyzed in depth Includes four humorous scenarios in which the humor easily reveals the obvious from the obscure Addresses ethical colleagueship GLADYS L. HUSTED, PhD, MSNEd, RN, is professor emeritus of nursing at Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She received a master's in nursing education from the University of Pittsburgh, where she also completed her PhD in curriculum and supervision. She was awarded the title of School of Nursing Distinguished Professor in 1998. She has retired from full-time employment at Duquesne University but continues to teach part time in the MSN and PhD programs. Her main area of expertise is in bioethics. She continues to write and consult. Her other areas of expertise are in curriculum design, instructional strategies, and theory development. Dr. Husted's website can be accessed at www.duq.edu/nursing/faculty/husted JAMES H. HUSTED is an independent scholar. He is a member of the American Philosophical Association and the North American Spinoza Society. He has been a member of the high IQ societies, Mensa and Intertel. He was the philosophy expert for Dial-An-M for Mensa, as well as the philosophy editor of Integra, the journal of Intertel. CARRIE J. SCOTTO, PhD, RN, is
ISBN: 9780826171436Publication Date: 2014-11-01
The Ethic of Care by
"The Ethic of Care: A Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice, is unique from other nursing ethics textbooks in several key ways. The book adds a heightened dimension to the already rich knowledge in the field of applied nursing ethics and the ethic of"
ISBN: 9781608053049Publication Date: 2012-02-02
Ethical Competence in Nursing Practice by
This is a unique, innovative professional nursing ethics textbook designed specifically for all practicing nurses and to meet the educational needs of all nursing students, including RN to BSN and RN to MSN students. Written by experts in the field, it discusses ethical concepts relevant to the registered nurse who has practiced for several years but is learning higher level concepts and applications. This text addresses different areas of professional practice and is rich with case studies illustrating the need for ethical competence and decision making. The book fulfills the necessary criteria for the AACN Essentials for Baccalaureate Education and the QSEN and IOM competencies. It also integrates relevant provisions and statements from the revised Code for Nurses (ANA, 2015). Clear and concise, the text relates content to the nurse's current practice and introduces a framework for the development of ethical competence, from recognition of an ethical situation to implementation of a justifiable action. A decision-making model that includes elements of care and virtue ethics is also included. Essential communication and conflict skills are addressed, in addition to the role of the ethics committee and ethics consultation. The book discusses common ethical issues likely to be encountered, how to recognize and address moral distress, and ethical practice as it relates to research, quality, and safety. Case studies that incorporate evidence-informed research provide the opportunity to develop ethical skills and apply decisionmaking principles. Relevant QSEN competencies and provisions and statements from the ANA's revised Code for Nurses (2015) are featured in each chapter. Interactive exercises and questions and PowerPoints provide further opportunity for critical thinking. KEY FEATURES: Addresses the specific needs of practicing nurses and students in the RN to BSN and RN to MSN coursesFulfills AACN Essentials, IOM competencies, and QSEN KSAs Integrates relevant provisions and statements from the revised Code for Nurses (ANA, 2015)Builds upon previous practice experienceDiscusses ethical competence in a variety of practice environmentsIncludes case studies to apply ethical competencies
ISBN: 9780826126375Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Nursing Ethics in Everyday Practice by
Written specifically for nurses who are at the front lines of health care in hospitals, outpatient clinics, surgery centers, home health care settings, etc, this author emphasizes real world ethical challenges for nurses. The book provides guidelines on current and future ethical challenges, how to have moral courage and project the readers own voice, and an overall guide to communication and ethics consultation. Author Connie Ulrich, a clinical ethics expert, describes types of everyday ethical challenges with which nurses are most likely to be confronted, the practical considerations, the questions to ask, and the specific steps to take to come to a satisfactory resolution for patient and family.
ISBN: 9781935476504Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Slow Ethics and the Art of Care by
The path to good caregiving can be challenging. How can we respond ethically when there is pressure to meet targets, work faster and implement quick fixes? This book offers a solution in the form of slow ethics. Slow ethics counters the craving for short-term answers, restores balance and affirms the value of the art of care. The book features real-life stories from different care contexts, enticing readers to adopt an approach that enables humans, other species and the environment to flourish.
ISBN: 9781839091988Publication Date: 2020-05-21
Touch in the Helping Professions by
Touch may well be one of the least understood or talked about subjects in the helping professions. A discussion on the importance and ethics of positive, caring, and appropriate touch in professions such as teaching, nursing and counselling is long overdue. Touch in the Helping Professions delivers just that, weaving together scholarly evidence, research and clinical practice from a wide range of perspectives encompassing philosophy, theology, psychology, and anthropology to challenge assumptions about the role of touch in the helping professions. The contributors to the volume focus not only on the overarching roles of gender, age, culture and life experience, but go beyond to encompass canine-assisted therapy, touch deprivation, sacred objects, as well as key ethical considerations. The prevailing lack of dialogue, due to fear of contravening ethical boundaries, has stood in the way of an open and responsible discussion on the use of touch in therapy. Touch in the Helping Professions is a welcome and much needed contribution to the field--a window onto a fundamental need. This book is published in English. - Cet ouvrage offre un ensemble de donn es probantes et de r sultats cliniques l'appui du toucher dans le d veloppement physique et motionnel. Il est structur selon trois axes: la th orie sur le toucher; la pratique du toucher dans un contexte de th rapie, et les questions thiques. Il aborde la question du r le du genre, de l' ge, de la culture et de l'exp rience de vie, des sujets comme la zooth rapie, la privation sensorielle, des objets sacr s, et des consid rations d'ordre thique. Les approches vari es - philosophie, th ologie, psychologie, anthropologie - remettent en question les pr suppositions, offrent un contexte historico-culturelprofessionnel, et font appel des donn es primaires. Les collaborateurs soutiennent que le toucher sain et non sexuel n'est pas suffisamment enseign dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle. Cette absence de dialogue - engendr e par la crainte de d passer des bornes thiques, fait en sorte qu'une discussion ouverte et responsable sur l'utilisation du toucher dans un cadre th rapeutique ne peut avoir lieu, alors m me qu'elle contribuerait aux balises th oriques de notre compr hension de cet enjeu fondamental. Ce livre est publi en anglais.
ISBN: 9780776627557Publication Date: 2018-04-10
How to Break Bad News by
For many health care professionals and social service providers, the hardest part of the job is breaking bad news. The news may be about a condition that is life-threatening (such as cancer or AIDS), disabling (such as multiple sclerosis or rheumatoid arthritis), or embarrassing (such as genital herpes). To date medical education has done little to train practitioners in coping with such situations. With this guide Robert Buckman and Yvonne Kason provide help. Using plain, intelligible language they outline the basic principles of breaking bad new and present a technique, or protocol, that can be easily learned. It draws on listening and interviewing skills that consider such factors as how much the patient knows and/or wants to know; how to identify the patient's agenda and understanding, and how to respond to his or her feelings about the information. They also discuss reactions of family and friends and of other members of the health care team. Based on Buckman's award-winning training videos and Kason's courses on interviewing skills for medical students, this volume is an indispensable aid for doctors, nurses, psychotherapists, social workers, and all those in related fields.
ISBN: 9780802067906Publication Date: 1992-08-08
