Medical Billing is a field that requires accuracy in reporting patient information. In addition, knowledge of anatomy, physiology and medical terminology play a strong part in any medical biller.
Click on the images or titles below to access the eBooks for free through the ACC Library!
CPT Professional 2022 by
CPT® 2022 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Healthcare professionals want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2022 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the healthcare community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code medical services and procedures properly. The AMA also takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers. To help combat print piracy, protect our intellectual properties, and ensure our customers'' right to authentic AMA-certified content, the CPT® 2022 Professional is equipped with nonintrusive light-yellow dots on almost every page of the codebook. As a result of the implementation of this anti-piracy technology, this codebook cannot be reproduced by photocopy or scan in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2022 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index -- aid in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures discussed Coding tips throughout each section -- improve understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents --enable a quick search of the codebook''s content for quick access Section-specific table of contents -- provide a useful tool to navigate effectively and quickly through each section''s codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions -- provide a summary and quick reference of the 2022 changes in the codes without having to compare editions Multiple appendices -- offer additional information for modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families re-sequenced codes, and MAAAs and PLA services New Appendix Q -- provide coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) vaccines and their associated administration codes New Appendix R -- provide digital medicine services taxonomy Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
ISBN: 9781640160873Publication Date: 2021-10-15
ICD-10-CM 2022 the Complete Official Codebook with Guidelines by
ICD-10-CM 2022: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, correct documentation, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 22 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z-codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official 2022 coding guidelines are included in this codebook. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the CY2022 codes, including a conversion table and code changes by specialty. QPP symbol in the tabular section. The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MACRA. New and updated coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. Chapter 22 features U-codes and coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) codes Improved icon placement for ease of use New and updated definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury and provide better understanding of complex diagnostic terms. Intuitive features and format. This edition includes color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention-the use of a "placeholder X" for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table. This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons Index to Diseases and Injuries. Shaded guides to show indent levels for subentries. Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk-adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z-codes.
ISBN: 9781640161559Publication Date: 2021-09-30
ICD-10-PCS 2022 the Complete Official Codebook by
ICD-10-PCS 2022: The Complete Official Codebook contains the complete ICD-10-PCS code set and supplementary appendixes required for reporting inpatient procedures. This illustrated codebook presents the code set in 17 sections of tables arranged by general procedure type. Tables within the extensive Medical and Surgical section are additionally sectioned out by body system, indicated by color-coded page borders. ICD-10-PCS contains classifications for procedures, devices, and technologies. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Summary of changes. Quickly see how additions and deletions affect each section of ICD-10-PCS. Complete ICD-10-PCS 2022 code set. The code set is organized in 17 sections. Each section contains a code table by which a code can be built through character selections that reflect the procedure performed. A character meanings table and citations to American Hospital Association's Coding Clinic® start each section. Official coding guidelines. Learn how to use the code set appropriately following the guidelines specific for each section. Illustrations. The color illustrations provide a visual explanation of anatomy and procedural approach. Approach illustrations show the access location, method, and instrumentation that determine the approach. Body parts with indicators to applicable code characters (provided immediately after the Character Meaning tables in the Medical/Surgical sections) Visual alerts. This edition provides color-coding and symbols that identify male/female procedures and new/revised character values. Detailed information on structure and conventions of ICD-10-PCS. Learn about the unique structure and the specific definitions and functions of each character. Practice your skills with sample exercises (answers included). Color-coding and symbols for the Medicare Code Edits. This edition includes color-coding and symbols for the most comprehensive coverage of ICD10 MS-DRG MCEs for procedures including; Non-covered procedures Limited-coverage procedures Combination-only procedures Non-operating room procedures affecting MS-DRG assignment Non-operating room procedures not affecting MS-DRG assignment Hospital-acquired condition (HAC)-related procedures Procedure combination tables. Identify ICD-10-PCS code-combination requirements needed to satisfy certain MS-DRG requirements. Valuable resources to enhance productivity. Resources to help guide the user, including: Root operation definition table for medical/surgical section Root operation for medical/surgical section, grouped by objective Operation/Type definition tables for other ICD-10-PCS sections Body-part definitions and body-part key for accurate identification of correct body-part character Device key and device aggregation tables Approach definitions Substance key
ISBN: 9781640161597Publication Date: 2021-08-30
HCPCS 2022 Level II Professional Edition by
Organized for quick and accurate coding, HCPCS Level II 2022 Professional Edition codebook includes the most current Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes and regulations, which are essential references needed for accurate medical billing and maximum permissible reimbursement. This professional edition includes such features as Netter's anatomical illustrations, dental codes, and ambulatory surgical center (ASC) payment and status indicators. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Full-color Netter's anatomicalillustrations clarify complex anatomic information and how it affects coding. At-a-glance code listings and distinctive symbols identify all new, revised, reinstated, and deleted codes for 2022. The American Hospital Association Coding Clinic®for HCPCS citations provide sources for information about specific codes and their usage. Convenient spiral binding provides easy access in practice settings. Quantity feature indicates maximum allowable units of service per patient, per day, for physician and hospital outpatient per medically unlikely edits (MUEs) for enhanced accuracy on claims. Drug code annotations identify brand-name drugs as well as drugs that appear on the National Drug Class (NDC) directory and other Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved drugs. Color-codedTable of Drugs makes it easier to find specific drug information. Durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS) indicators clearly identify supplies to report to durable medical third-party payers. Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) payment and status indicators show which codes are payable in the Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System. American Dental Association (ADA) Current Dental Terminology code sets offer access to all dental codes in one place. Jurisdiction symbols show the appropriate contractor to be billed for suppliers submitting claims to Medicare contractors, Part B carriers and Medicare administrative contractors for DMEPOS services. Special coverage information provides alerts when codes have specific coverage instructions, are not valid or covered by Medicare or may be paid at the carrier's discretion. Age/Sex edits identify codes for use only with patients of a specific age or sex.
ISBN: 9781640161610Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Fundamentals of Coding, Payment, and Documentation by
This helpful resource provides a single-source introduction to all aspects of coding and reimbursement to those who are not currently coders. This book is designed for everyone involved in documenting, billing, data archiving and paying medical claims. It explains the interplay coding has to reimbursement, compliance, contract negotiations, adjudication, and risk. It can also be used as an introductory text in coding classes. Each chapter will have examples of medical documentation, bills, and remittance advices to emphasize the content of the chapter. Additional chapters include fraud and abuse as it relates to coding with the final chapter putting it all together explaining how it all impacts each aspect. Additional features include: * Laymans interpretation of coding and reimbursement along with common clinical scenarios to fully explain each lesson * Quick check boxes to emphasize points of most interest * Logic trees, decision trees and case examples for additional understanding * Bibliography -- useful everyday Web sites and resources * Lists of definitions and acronyms for better understanding of important topics
ISBN: 9781603593373Publication Date: 2011-09-01
ICD-10 Trainer by
ICD-10 Trainer: Top Coding Scenarios for CM and PCS Michelle A. Leppert, CPC Shelley C. Safian, PhD, MAOM/HSM, CCS-P, CPC-H, CPC-I, CHA, AHIMA-Approved ICD-10- CM/PCS Trainer Hit by a truck? Bit by a duck? There's an ICD-10-CM code for that, and we'll help you find it! Visit our premiere facilities--Stitch 'Em Up Hospital and Fix 'Em Up Clinic. Our friendly staff sees illnesses, injuries, and surgeries the length and breadth of ICD-10-CM and PCS. We'll take you on a tour of ICD-10, from the basic rules and guidelines to the intricacies of brain surgery. You'll learn the meanings of the ICD-10-PCS root operations and get the lowdown on key new concepts. And to make sure you don't suffer from F41.0 (panic attack) at the thought of coding in ICD-10, we've included exercises to test your knowledge. Just remember, whether you're awake from caffeine abuse or amphetamine use, we'll show you how to find the ICD-10 code for that! Take a look at the Table of Contents: Chapter 1: Introduction to ICD-10-CM Chapter 2: ICD-10-CM Chapter-Specific Stories Chapter 3: Injuries, Poisonings, and Other Consequences Chapter 4: More Coding Scenarios Chapter 5: ICD-10-PCS Guidelines Chapter 6: ICD-10-PCS Root Operations Chapter 7: ICD-10-PCS Procedure Stories This book provides: Important concepts for coding the relevant scenarios (e.g., laterality, placeholders, seventh characters, etc.) Practice questions that coders can use to test themselves Training tools to help coders prepare for ICD-10 Coding scenarios to help readers learn how to choose codes for all of the important ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS areas After reading this book, coders will be able to: Detail the most significant differences in coding guidelines between ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM Build an ICD-10-PCS code using the tables Apply the coding guidelines to correctly assign ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS codes
ISBN: 9781615693788Publication Date: 2014-06-23Procedural Coding and Reimbursement for Physician Services by
ISBN: 9781584263999Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Introduction to CPT Coding by
CPTr coding education straight from the source The AMA, the expert in CPT coding, offers this new publication on the Introduction to CPTr Coding: Basic principles to learning, understanding and applying the CPT code set. This entry-level coding education resource can be used alone or in a classroom setting. Students and self-learners entering the coding and billing field will learn how to appropriately select the correct codes for the services and procedures performed. It is crucial to understand and correctly apply the CPT coding guidelines for each section and subsection of the CPT codebook. This valuable resource addresses the general guidelines for each at the beginner's level, and facilitates comprehension and application of the CPT coding guidelines. Each chapter contains valuable features to provide further educational guidance on appropriate coding, such as: * Check your Knowledge -- questions and answers to test your comprehension of the material * Key Terms -- defines fundamental terms used within the text for ease of use * Coding Tips -- helpful information listed throughout each chapter * Illustrations -- specific to the anatomy of the procedures and codes * "Real-life" coding examples -- teach you how to apply your new skills * Chapter exercises-- hands-on exercises challenge your knowledge of each chapter Whether you are a student or a self-learner, this book will teach you the essentials of CPT coding, and help to launch you into the exciting career of coding.
ISBN: 9781603595315Publication Date: 2011-08-01
